Skip to content

Another day in paradise?

August 12, 2010

I’m not sure I can explain this whole trip succinctly, but I can try!  We’re on day 9 today in DC.  Heading to the Smithsonian Museum of Natural History and the Sant Ocean Hall by Metro today.  The exhibits in the newly renovated ocean hall were developed using the Ocean Literacy standards — so it will be interesting to read the text and talk to the exhibits curator and an educator.  Then we’ll go to the Koshland Science Museum (which I’ve never visited).  We will have some free time afterwards and will have a chance to visit other museums or just walk along the Mall.

We head home in the morning.  I’m happy to be heading home to sleep in my own bed and to catch up with the husband and cats and what they’ve been doing, but it will be sad to depart from this group of wonderful educators that I have come to know, love, and respect during this incredible adventure!  We gelled as a group almost immediately and by changing up bus seats daily, I have gotten to know several people very well.

We all want to continue this feeling of camaraderie and solidarity for a long time.  I mean, with how many people do you ever get to share  the touch of a beluga’s melon, or the thrill of watching humpback whale flukes disappearing below the ocean’s surface, or the goose bumps you get while watching bottlenose dolphins and harbor seals going through a training session???!!!

Today will be another busy day, and the journey has been quite eventful.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Pat Bowman permalink
    August 12, 2010 9:36 pm

    Thanks to everyone for sharing your pictures and experiences. Sometimes it felt as though I was there (and I wish I was). I know you all have acquired a lifetime of memories in a few short days.

    I look forward to hearing all about it from Debra.

    Have a safe trip back.

Leave a Reply

